top of page

Song of the Day : Immortal Technique ft Various – “Brooklyn Verse”

Short presentation.

Immortal Technique is from far one of my favorite rappers.

Well, if you haven’t heard of him already , he’s like an underground hip hop legend. He is passionate, deep, political, a true activist, a revolutionist, fearless and provocative, with sharp and deadly lyrics.

You shouldn’t be surprised if he one day ends up killed by the Government for his lyrics, for he speaking the raw Truth is seen as a threat.

“If you’re troubled by the words I speak, then you should probably hang yourself because the world is going to tear you apart or is too real for you to accept. I’m not offended by fuck, shit, pussy, dick, motherfucker. You know what I’m offended by? I’m offended by seeing a child in Gaza who has had his skin burned off by white phosphorus. I’m offended by seeing the graves of civilians that are there because they are the “collateral damage” of a drone strike in Afghanistan or Pakistan. I’m offended when I see people perverting Christianity, Islam or Judaism for their own political purposes so they can justify taking land or killing people in the name of something.“

He was born in Lima, Peru and raised in Harlem, New York. Most of his lyrics are focused on class struggle, religion, government and institutional racism.

This here is not his most famous song, just a song that I love.

It’s a very long song, so I just give you the lyrics to Immortal Technique’s verse.

[Verse 4 – Immortal Technique]

If you ever try to floss on me up in the cypher

Your platinum will fall apart like it’s made of Formica

You think you’re nice but I’m nicer

Like Ras Kass, Punisher, and KRS in a gene splicer

Fuck a Bentley—I’ll run you down in a Chrysler

My shit is raw like cocaine stuffed in a diaper

I shared cells with lifers when I was stuck in prison

Smokin’ Buddha like I was burning someone else’s religion

I lift my leg to urinate on conservative Christians

‘Cause you never seen a dog hold his dick while he’s pissin’

Listen instead of bitchin’ at the shit that I’m rippin’

‘Cause intellectual, murderous, spittin’ this copywritten

You can’t compare what you’re kickin’ to what I verbally did

I’m the Lord of the Flies, nigga, ‘cause I’m murderin’ kids

Run up in your crib without a fuckin’ camera crew

And confiscate your plaques for doing things that amateurs do

Sabotage, break down the industry, damagin’ you

A runaway slave—that’s how my stamina grew

I come through walkin’ on water like the messiah

I make bitches lose they mind like Mariah

I set tracks on fire like Betty Shabazz

And when I fuck, I burn rubber like Dominican cabs

Iron-clad armor, spit like a sub-machine

And burn your block to ashes like nuclear submarines

Ayo, bitch, put your finger in your ear. It’s squishy in there, right? That’s ‘cause I just raped your fuckin’ brain

Bless up!

Blaze

bottom of page